Kansas MBA

Masters Beef Advocacy training blog

  • Categories

  • Archives

LESSON 4 – BEEF NUTRITION

Posted by Chelsea Good on March 25, 2009

Another great course! Sometimes nutrition is hard to talk about because there are so many nutrients and numbers to remember. I think knowing that there are 29 cuts of lean beef is important. I’ll also never forget that beef has ZIP – Zinc, Iron and Protein.
One way I’ve seen work really well for the Kansas Beef Council and K-State’s Collegiate Cattlewomen is starting up conversations about beef nutrition while giving out beef samples at the grocery store or another event. I think health-related events like Relay for Life and Heart Walk are a great fit, and many communities host them.
What other tips do you have for talking to consumers about beef nutrition? Where have you done this in the past and how has it worked?

2 Responses to “LESSON 4 – BEEF NUTRITION”

  1. Denise said

    I agree that nutrition is hard to talk about. This was the only unit that I was really unsure of.
    I think one of the greatest “attention getters” in this day and age for the average consumer is the SIMPLE fact that beef is NATURALLY nutritious. What a great statment.

    Thanks for the opportunity to take this course!

  2. Tera said

    I think an important thing for consumers to understand, that very few of us do, is portion size. I think this is where beef comes under the negative light a lot of times. My mom is a Family and Consumer Sciences teacher and she can preach nutrition of certain items until she is blue in the face, believe me I have heard! Where consumers get mislead oftentimes is dealing with portion size. Ribeye size is a consumer-driven carcass merit. While a serving of beef is about the size of a deck of cards, how many times has your steak been that size? This is where I think articles and websites can twist things and put beef in a negative light. We all know that beef is nutritious, but overeating can turn that good thing into a bad thing especially when published.

Leave a comment